The University of Minnesota softball team had four student-athletes named to the 2024 National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) Division I All-Region Teams, announced Saturday. Jess Oakland received a first team selection while Taylor Krapf and Morgan DeBord received second team nods and Sydney Strelow was named third team.

Oakland received First Team All-Region accolades following an impressive sophomore season. This is the second All-Region nod for the 2024 Big Ten Player of the Year. The shortstop is Minnesota’s single season leader with 68 runs scored, second in batting average (.452), fifth in doubles (19), first in home runs (20), and fourth in walks (44).

This is the second NFCA All-Region honor that Krapf has received while donning the Maroon and Gold. The catcher paced the Gophers, batting .311 with 11 home runs and 52 RBI. She slugged .602 and hit multiple single season records; two multi-home run games against NC State and Iowa. She also grabbed three doubles against Ohio State and secured seven RBI against Illinois.

Graduate Morgan DeBord continues to catch postseason honors in center field. The Hillsboro, Ore., native batted .359 with 36 runs and 27 RBI. Defensively, she’s had 92 putouts and a .991 fielding percentage.

With the award, Strelow adds another honor to an already very decorated graduate season at second base. In helping lead the Minnesota defense to No. 2 in the nation in turning double plays, Strelow averaged .309 with 12 doubles, 38 RBI, and a .978 fielding percentage.

Complete List of Minnesota’s NFCA All-Region Awards:
Jess Oakland: Great Lakes First Team All-Region
Taylor Krapf: Great Lakes Second Team All-Region
Morgan DeBord: Great Lakes Second Team All-Region
Sydney Strelow: Great Lakes Third Team All-Region

(info and photo courtesy of Gopher Sports)

Share this: