The Golden Gopher track and field program will be well-represented at the NCAA West Preliminary as the University of Minnesota has qualified 31 entries for the NCAA first round competition, which is scheduled for May 22-25, hosted by the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville.

About the NCAA West Prelim
The four-day competition takes place at John McDonnell Field on the campus of the University of Arkansas. Qualifying individuals and relays advance to the 2024 NCAA Division I Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Eugene, Ore., held on June 5-7 at Hayward Field. Athletes who rank among the top 48 in their respective event earn a berth into the NCAA West Preliminary Rounds. In addition, the best 24 relay times advance to the NCAA preliminaries. Athletes with the top 12 times/marks and the best 12 relay teams at both the East and West Preliminary Rounds sites will qualify for the NCAA Championships. The action will be live streamed via ESPN on ESPN+ while live results can be followed on

Gophers at the NCAA West Prelim
The women’s team enters the meet with five participants ranked among the top 10 in six different events, including Odell Frye (No. 7 – 100m), Zoie Dundon (No. 5 – 3000m steeplechase), Diarra Sow (No. 8 – triple jump), Anthonett Nabwe (No. 9 – shot put, No. 10 – hammer throw), and Shelby Frank (No. 3 – discus throw, No. 4 – hammer throw). Minnesota’s men head south with four athletes ranked in the top 10 of regional entrants in five events featuring Devin Augustine (No. 2 – 100m, No. 3 – 200m), Jak Urlacher (No. 6 – pole vault), Charles Godfred (No. 3 – long jump), and Angelos Mantzouranis (No. 3 – hammer throw).

Augustine, Frye and Godah all will be busy throughout the weekend, potentially competing in three events each with the trio all running as members of Minnesota’s 4x100m relay teams. Additionally, Minnesota’s 4x400m relay team on the women’s side qualified. Out of Minnesota’s qualifiers, eight women qualified for their first NCAA West Regional while six men earned bids for the first time in their careers.

History on the Line
After another historic season in the Twin Cities, the Golden Gophers can see another first occur while in Fayetteville. No Gopher has ever qualified for the NCAA Outdoor Championships in either the men’s or women’s 1500m. Erin Reidy and Eli Hoeft will look to be the first while freshman Charles Godfred will attempt to be just the second Minnesota long jumper to qualify for the NCAA Championships, and the first since 1995 (Keita Cline).

Women’s Declared Entrants
Odell Frye – 100m, 200m, 4x100m Relay
Victory Godah – 100m, 200m, 4x100m Relay
Janielle Josephs – 400m, 4x400m Relay
Jayla Campbell – 400m, 4x400m Relay
Brooke Jaworski – 800m, 4x400m Relay
Erin Reidy – 1500m
Maja Maunsbach – 100mH
Zariyah Black – 100mH, 4x100m Relay
Abigail Schaaffe – 400mH, 4x400m Relay
Zoie Dundon – 3000m Steeplechase
Taylor Kreitinger – 3000m Steeplechase
Alliyah McNeil – 4x100m Relay, High Jump, Long Jump
Dalayni Etienne – 4x400m Relay
Dyandra Gray – 4x400m Relay
Lexy Berger – Pole Vault
Sofia Condon – Pole Vault
Diarra Sow – Triple Jump
Brooke Moore – Triple Jump
Anthonett Nabwe – Shot Put, Discus Throw, Hammer Throw
Shelby Frank – Discus Throw, Hammer Throw
Hadley Streit – Hammer Throw

Men’s Declared Entrants
Devin Augustine – 100m, 200m, 4x100m Relay
Ramy Ayoub – 800m
Eli Hoeft – 1500m
Dan VanAcker – 3000m Steeplechase
Charles Godfred – 4x100m Relay, Long Jump
Finn Schirmer – 4x100m Relay
Gary Afram – 4x100m Relay
Dante White – 4x100m Relay
Jak Urlacher – Pole Vault
Angelos Mantzouranis – Hammer Throw

(info and photo courtesy of Gopher Sports)

Share this: