The Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC) has announced its 2023 Hall of Fame Inductees. The induction ceremony will be held Tuesday, July 11 at the Best Western Plus Ramkota in Sioux Falls, South Dakota at the NSIC’s annual Summer Kickoff event. A social will begin at 5:30 p.m. followed by the ceremony at 6:00 p.m. Reserve your tickets for the banquet by visiting and filling out the online Hall of Fame Banquet Registration Form. Registrations are due no later than July 1, as space is limited for this event.

The Class of 2023 includes: 2011 Augustana Women’s Cross Country Team; Mary (Slinger) Heiken, Concordia University, St. Paul; Lindsey Dietz, University of Minnesota Duluth; Jennifer (Hensel) Jahnke, Minnesota State University Moorhead; Jake Hamik, Northern State University; Laura (Lundbohm) Hulsebus, Southwest Minnesota State University; Logan Masters, Wayne State College; and Jonte Flowers, Winona State University.

Founded in 1986, the Northern Intercollegiate Conference (NIC – the former men’s conference) Hall of Fame was established to recognize and honor those who made significant contributions to the conference, to create favorable publicity and public relations for the league and to help preserve the history of the NIC, its member institutions, student-athletes, and other significant individuals affiliated with the league. For the first two inductions (1986 and 1990) each selection hailed from the NIC. In 1992, the Northern Sun Conference (NSC – the former women’s conference) and the NIC merged, creating the current Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference (NSIC). After annual inductions since 2000, the NSIC Hall of Fame now boasts over 200 members and two teams.

Each NSIC institution (who has been a league member for at least ten years) is asked to submit one candidate for consideration for induction into the Hall of Fame. Each of the candidates are derived from individuals who have been affiliated with the NSIC, NIC, NSC and their member institutions.

In order to be eligible for the NSIC Hall of Fame, candidates must have made their contributions in one of the following areas: 1) former student-athletes, 2) administrator/coach, 3) official/supervisor/coordinator, 4) contributor/supporter, or 5) team. The conference provides two plaques; one of which will go to the inductee and one to the institution represented. A history of each inductee will be kept in the NSIC Office and each institution will prominently display the plaques of their respective NSIC Hall of Fame inductees.

(info courtesy of NSIC)

Share this: