(St. Paul, MN) — The Denver Pioneers won a record tenth national hockey championship upsetting top-rated Boston College in Saturday’s Frozen Four final 2-0 in St. Paul. Burnsville native Jared Wright scored Denver’s first goal, while Minnesota Wild prospect Rieger Lorenz added the insurance tally. Both goals came in the second period. Pioneers goaltender Matt Davis saved all 35 shots he faced. Bloomington native Tristan Broz, a former Gopher, was on the all-tournament team for Denver. Denver has won three of the past seven national titles and five of the past 20. St. Louis will host next year’s Frozen Four.

MNN sports director Mike Grimm spoke with Broz in the victorious dressing room after the game:


MNN correspondent Tanner Hoops chatted with Lorenz after the win:


Share this: