University of Minnesota men’s basketball standout Dawson Garcia has been named a top-10 finalist for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award, announced today by Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. Garcia is one of two Big Ten players named to the top-10 list.

Despite missing three games to injury, Garcia leads the Golden Gophers in points (298), points per game (17.5), rebounds (120), rebounds per game (7.1), free throws attempted (112) and free throws made (92). Garcia ranks second on the team in minutes played averaging 31.1, has started in all 17 games he’s participated in and is also shooting 45 percent from the field. Garcia ranks seventh in the Big Ten in points and 11th in rebounding. Of his 17 games this season, Garcia has led the team in scoring 10 times. The Savage, Minn., product has scored double-digit points in 16 games this year, missing just one game, where he left the game due to injury. Garcia, an All-Big Ten Preseason selection and the season’s first Big Ten Player of the Week, also has recorded three point/rebound double-doubles this season.

Fans can support their favorite players in the remaining rounds by participating in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, starting today on The Fan Vote will count as one committee vote during the finalist selection process. In March, five finalists will be presented to Abdul-Jabbar and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Selection Committee for the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award is composed of top men’s college basketball personnel, including media members, head coaches, sports information directors, and Hall of Famers.

The winner of the 2024 Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Men’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Award (Point Guard), Jerry West Award (Shooting Guard), Julius Erving Award (Small Forward), and the Karl Malone Award (Power Forward), in addition to the Women’s Starting Five.

Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award FINALISTS
Armando Bacot UNC
Branden Carlson Utah
Dawson Garcia Minnesota
Donovan Clingan UConn
Hunter Dickinson Kansas
Joel Soriano St Johns
Johni Broome Auburn
PJ Hall Clemson
Ryan Kalkbrenner Creighton
Zach Edey Purdue

(info courtesy of Gopher Sports)

Share this: