Bob Motzko from the Golden Gophers men’s hockey team was chosen as the 2023 Spencer Penrose Award winner, given annually to the CCM/AHCA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Coach of the Year, it was announced Wednesday.

Motzko is the second-ever Minnesota coach to win the prestigious honor in the 73-year history of the award, joining the legendary John Mariucci (1953). It’s the second-straight year the Austin, Minn., native was named a finalist for the honor after leading the Maroon and Gold to its record sixth Big Ten Conference championship and the program’s 23rd all-time appearance in the NCAA Frozen Four. He also was named the Big Ten Conference Coach of the Year for the third time over the last four years and picked up the 100th win of his tenure in early January.

Minnesota has never been ranked outside the top four this season and spent 12 weeks as the nation’s No. 1 team in at least one national poll. The Gophers claimed their 29th regular season title in team history via record-setting fashion under Motzko’s guidance as their 19 victories and 57 points were the most in conference history. It also was the third-consecutive, 20-plus win campaign for Motzko at Minnesota.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first 10 NCAA championship hockey tournaments. The award will be presented on Wednesday, April 26, at the 2023 AHCA Convention at the Naples Grande Hotel in Naples, Fla. The CCM/AHCA Coach of the Year Award is sponsored by CCM Hockey and chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association.

(info courtesy of Gopher Sports)

Share this: