University of Minnesota quarterback Tanner Morgan was named one of three finalists for the Wuerffel Trophy today. Joining Morgan as a finalist are Dillan Gibbons of Florida State and Patrick Fields of Stanford.

The annual award, which is known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service,” is presented each February in Fort Walton Beach, Fla., and is named after Danny Wuerffel, the 1996 Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback from the University of Florida. The Wuerffel Trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society and inspire greater service in the world.

Morgan is a man of faith who consistently uses his platform as a college athlete to uplift others and spread positivity to his community. He is actively involved in Minnesota’s team charitable efforts and also spends time with youth, builds personal relationships with young hospital patients and shares his zest for life with those around him.

He is also Minnesota’s winningest all-time quarterback with a record a career record of 33-14, which includes a 6-2 mark this season.

The formal announcement of the 2022 recipient is scheduled to be made December 8 and the presentation of the 2022 Wuerffel Trophy will occur on February 24, 2023, at the 54th All Sports Association Awards Banquet in Fort Walton Beach.

Tanner Morgan

(info courtesy of Gopher Sports)

Share this: