University of Minnesota center John Michael Schmitz was named a semifinalist for the Outland Trophy today. The Outland Trophy is presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman by the Football Writers Association of America.

Schmitz is the top-ranked center in the Power Five according to Pro Football Focus, and he was also recently named a semifinalist for the Rotary Lombardi Award.

In addition, Schmitz was named to the First Team Midseason All-America Team by the AP, ESPN, PFF and CBS.

Schmitz is one of seven semifinalists for the Outland Trophy and is joined by Steve Avila (TCU), Jalen Carter (Georgia), Paris Johnson Jr. (Ohio State), Calijah Kancey (Pitt), Olusegun Oluwatimi (Michigan) and Peter Skoronski (Northwestern).

Three former Gophers have received the Outland Trophy in Greg Eslinger (2005), Bobby Bell (1962) and Tom Brown (1960).

Schmitz and the Gophers return to action on Saturday when they host Iowa at 3 p.m.

John Michael Schmitz

(info and photos courtesy of Gopher Sports)

Share this: